Higher Education Council is conducting another assessment that could leave doors closed for other higher learning institutions, as has been the case last year.

Recent Higher learning institution audit carried out in 2016 by HEC have left five institutions closed following a series of assessments that proved to have totally failed to comply with relative requirements including appropriate staff and lack of enough teaching facilities among others.
The last year move to suspend courses or close the institutions affected overall ten institutions and was in the government perspective to insure the quality of education in higher learning institutions.
HEC has said, through its General Director Dr Muvunyi Emmanuel, that a fresh assessment that started end of last year is underway being conducted in 26 higher learning institutions which have showed a report to be free. Other new institutions will in this cause be assessed.
The areas of focus of the audit are qualifications of institutions staffs, contracts of staff (lecturers) members, compliance of institutions curriculum to the quality of education and the efficiency of training materials.
Dr. Muvunyi said according to umuseke.com said that the audit has so far been conducted in 18 institutions since December and is expected to conclude in a month ahead.
“We don’t want suspend course for institutions that is why we have decided to closely assess them, it is not an easy task as it requires some financial means but it now yielding results as almost all of them are trying their best to fulfill the requirements. This have been a lesson for us we will always follow up the compliance of the requirements and urge them to fulfill their requirement so as to avoid any eventual suspension of the course or institution to close”
Among the closed institutions following the 2016 assessment, include Rusizi International University, Nile Source Polytechnic of Applied Arts (NSPA), Jomo Kenyatta University, Singhad Technical Education Society (STES), and Open University of Tanzania
Other institutions in which some of the courses were suspended are Technology and Arts of Byumba (UTAB) in Gicumbi District, University of Gitwe in Ruhango District, Institut Catholique de Kabgayi in Muhanga District, Instut d’Enseignement Superieur de Ruhengeri (INES-Ruhengeri) in Musanze District, and Mahatma Ghandi University (MHU) in Gasabo District.

The Express News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here