Parliament on Tuesday morning was presented with a draft law approving the ratification of bilateral Air services agreement between Rwanda and 32 countries across the globe.

The presentation was made by Claver Gatete the Minister of Infrastructure (right in picture above).

Rwanda has recently secured several deals with these countries to be able to conduct flights between Kigali and these destinations with a view to expanding existing traffic rights, as well as creating new traffic rights.

Rwanda has bilateral air services agreement signed with countries including; Bahamas, Angola, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, China, Comoros, Djibouti, Benin, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Hellenic, Iceland, India, Italy, Israel, Mali, Morocco, Mozambique.

Others include; Niger, Nigeria, Qatar, São Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swiss Federal Council, Togo and Zambia.

This agreement forms part of Rwanda’s wider plans to become the region’s aviation hub in the coming years.

Members of Parliament chamber of Deputies listen to tabling of Draft law on Rwandas Bilateral Air Services Agreement with 32 countries across the globe

Since using planes within the borders of a single country does not make any economic sense, in 1944 it became necessary for countries to come up with a way of expanding their operating areas.

Therefore this situation led to several agreements between countries which were in form of bilateral air service agreements between two countries.

The bilateral air services agreements allow to the designated airlines of those countries to operate commercial flight that covers the transport of passengers and cargoes between that two countries.

Also they normally regulate frequency and capacity of air services between countries, pricing and other commercial aspects.

The Express News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here